Service & Support

On this page you will find the help center with all FAQs and the most important support information as well as the download area with further materials on our business simulations.

The Most Important Questions & Answers About Business Games

In our help center you can find answers to the most frequently asked questions about our business simulations, the technical aspects and the possible seminar design. In addition, you can learn more about our events for future instructors and TOPSIM – support.

Business Simulations

What are business simulations/games?

Business simulations, also called business games, are a gamified learning method. As the name suggests, this type of learning is about applying and expanding existing knowledge in a hands-on and risk-free way.

In simulations, participants take over the management role of a virtual company. Over the course of several financial years, they have to make strategic and operational decisions, manage teams in the various company divisions, and always keep an eye on the competition in the market. In the evaluation reports of each round, the participants can see the effects of their decisions on the success of their company. They develop a feeling for the internal and external factors that influence the economic performance of a company.

Thanks to changing scenarios and a variety of decision-making situations, participants are constantly presented with new challenges. This way, holistic thinking is enhanced, and hard and soft skills are trained. Through these (virtual) experiences, our simulations offer a high degree of transferable knowledge and skills.

You can find more information in our video “What are business simulations”

How do I choose the right business simulation?

Below we have listed the most important factors to consider as of our experience:

  1. How many people will attend the seminar/training?
  2. What previous knowledge do the participants have? Do they need to be brushed on a topic, taught, or refreshed?
  3. Which learning outcomes do you want to focus on?
  4. In what way should the simulation be delivered? Classroom, online or blended learning?

Our team will be happy to advise you on these questions. You can find more tips on our blog

How much time do I need to plan for a simulation-based seminar?

The business game seminar can be individually adapted to your framework and goals. In the brief descriptions of our simulations, you can read how many periods (corresponding to one business year in the simulation) the respective business game covers. Depending on the complexity level, players need up to 90 minutes to make the decisions for the respective periods. How long the seminar finally lasts depends on the way it is used (see possible uses) and the prior knowledge of the participants, the scope of the additional tasks and the theoretical input.

Our team will be happy to develop the concept for your seminar together with you.

What is the difference between single-player and multi-player modes?

In multi-player mode teams compete against other teams. The time frame is determined by the seminar instructor. Classroom, online and blended learning formats are ideal for this. This mode offers the following advantages: high motivation through the competition, exciting group dynamics, learning content can be adjusted to the periods and a targeted evaluation of the results by the instructor is possible.

In single-player mode, participants play against computer-controlled competitors. This works both in a team and individually. Single-player mode gives players the opportunity to determine their learning speed independently of the seminar instructor and to repeat the game if necessary. In single-player mode, there is relatively little supervision required, so it is also particularly suitable for online and blended learning formats.

Please check out our blog for more information.

Use of business simulations at schools, universities or for corporate learning

At schools, colleges and universities our business simulations are used to help students apply theory in a hands-on way. Depending on the level of complexity, business games can be used as an introduction to studies, as a capstone course towards the end of studies, or as elective modules at any time. At schools, business games are suitable for final-year classes or for use at vocational schools. Most of the simulation games relate to business and economics topics but can also be used with non-business students. The seminar can be individually adapted to your course thanks to our online platform. You can add further tasks to the seminar and, if necessary, also grade the business game seminar,

In the corporate education, business games are often used for onboarding and training employees. You can also use business games to recruit trainees for your company or to train managers. Our business games promote hard and soft skills, team dynamics and an interdisciplinary understanding of the different areas of a company.

Technical Issues

What are the system requirements?

The majority of our business simulations can be played in the TOPSIM – Cloud. This means you do not need any special software or technical know-how to play these simulations. To get the most out of the TOPSIM – Cloud, we recommend using Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Otherwise, TOPSIM – Cloud is not dependent on the device or operating system. We recommend playing the simulation on a tablet, laptop or desktop PC; mobile view is not supported.

In the TOPSIM – Cloud you automatically receive the updates. If something does not work, please contact our support (see below).

Does every participant need a separate laptop?

If you are playing in single-player mode and each participant is playing on their own, they will need their own PC. However, if you are using the multiplayer mode in classroom format, it is sufficient if each team shares a device.

Since each participant receives a personalized access to the group account anyway, everyone can also use their own end device (laptop, PC or tablet). Decision-making is also possible from different locations with the help of the TOPSIM – Cloud.

How many participants can play in one team?

We recommend having three to five members per team to enhance the learning effect. However, this number can vary depending on the prior knowledge of the participants and the learning objective of the event.

A large number of players can be divided into up to 10 companies. If there are more than 10 teams, you have to consider playing on several markets simultaniously. The recommended number of participants for each business game can be found in the respective short descriptions.

Which languages are available?

Our business games are all available both in German and English. (Exception: TOPSIM – Hospital Management, which is only available in German, as it is specific to the German Healthcare Market)

How can I prepare myself for a simulation-based seminar as an instructor?

If you have never led a simulation-based course, we recommend participating in a train-the-trainer seminar. These trainings are supervised by experienced seminar instructors who explain the business games as well as typical questions in detail. Find out more under “Train-the-Trainer”.

An overview of the current training dates can be found here. Participation in a seminar instructor training is mandatory for the use of our support.

Do you provide demo accounts? What are the licensing options?

Yes, we would be happy to create a demo access to our TOPSIM – Cloud and the business games for you. You can find an overview of the different license models for educational institutions here. Please contact us to get more detailed information for your corporate learning program.

 

 

Seminar Design

Classroom

Classroom seminars take place as a classic face-to-face event. Teams and seminar instructors are on site and all play synchronously at the same time. Theory units, accompanying group tasks, decisions of the individual periods as well as evaluations by the seminar instructors alternate in the seminar. The event is usually held as a block seminar lasting several days and is particularly suitable for applying theoretical knowledge and using methods learned.

Blended

In blended learning concepts, the business game typically takes on the function of a dynamic case study and forms the common thread through a semester-long course. Blended learning seminars allow students to apply the theoretical methods learned.

Distance/Online

In online concepts, the entire course takes place in distance learning, without a classroom component. Remote seminars and the business game are interlinked here. The business game is designed to motivate through interactivity and gamified learning. The strength of the concept lies in the high flexibility of the application and the good scalability of the number of participants, who can complete a business game together regardless of location.

You can find more information about these concepts on the TOPSIM – Blog.

Train the Trainer

What is a TOPSIM train the trainer course?

We offer these trainings for all instructors interested in designing a seminar with our simulations. You will get to know fields of application of our business games and learn more about seminar design and its conception. In addition, we go into more detail on the methodology of our simulations and didactic aspects. Specific simulation contents (business and industry related) as well as simulation usage and its functions will also be discussed. Furthermore, we give you a detailed overview of the TOPSIM – Cloud interface.

Due to the current situation, the seminar instructor trainings are only held online and are limited to 8 participants. We hope to be able to conduct our trainings again with 10 participants on site in Tübingen soon.

How can I register for a training?

All current dates of our seminar instructor trainings can be found on the Events page. There you can select the training with the business game you are interested in and register. We currently offer trainings in German, if you are interested in an individual training in English, please contact us!

The training I wanted to attend is sold out, what should I do?

If the training is fully booked, please send us an email to [email protected] and we will put you on the waiting list. This way, we can still invite you to the desired training in case of a cancellation.

How much does it cost to participate?

The fee for a seminar instructor training is 300,00 € plus VAT per participant. University lecturers and teachers pay a discounted price of 150,00 € plus VAT.

Support

Who do I contact if I have questions during a seminar?

If you have any questions, you can reach us via e-mail ([email protected]) or phone (+49 7071 7942 13). Prerequisite for the use of the support is the participation in a seminar instructor training.

When can I reach the TOPSIM support hotline?

We offer support within our opening hours 8:30-17:00.

If you are planning a seminar on Saturday or outside the opening hours, please notify our team two weeks in advance (via email to [email protected] to ensure that one of our TOPSIM – experts is available for you.

Do you provide support to participants in a seminar?

We do not offer support for participants in a TOPSIM seminar. If you have any questions about the simulation, please always contact your seminar instructor.

What information should I have ready when contacting the hotline?

It is helpful if you have the SeminarID (number is displayed at the top of the seminar instructor interface), your email or the name of the administrator ready. With this information, we can connect directly to your interface and answer your questions as quickly as possible.

Download Area: Keeping You Updated

Here you will find further information about TOPSIM and our products. Get a detailed look at our business simulation portfolio or download our latest whitepaper.

How We Can Support Your Seminar

Debriefing: 6 Phases of Reflection

Debriefing: 6 Phases of Reflection

By running through several simulation periods, making strategic management decisions and competing with other teams they expand their knowledge and improve skills such as teamwork and communication within the group. To ensure that the participants can process the experiences, thorough reflection phases after group tasks are particularly important. We have prepared 6 questions for you to ask your participants during the debriefing.

Boost the Power of your talent: Organizational Development with TOPSIM – Business Simulations

Boost the Power of your talent: Organizational Development with TOPSIM – Business Simulations

With our TOPSIM – Business Simulations you can address the central competences in the digital age. During the simulation, the participants learn how to think strategically, analyze complex facts and figures and make decisions within the team. What is special about TOPSIM – Business Simulations? In this post we will show you how you can develop you organization with our simulations.

Single-player Business simulations

Single-player Business simulations

In a business simulation, participants take on the role of management and make operational and strategic management decisions for their fictional company. In our single-player mode, participants do not play against each other in teams as usual, but against predefined computer competitors.

Curious to Learn More About TOPSIM?

We’re happy to tell you more about how you can benefit from our gamified learning experiences.

Service & Support

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie den Help Center mit allen FAQs und den wichtigsten Infos zum Support, den Download-Bereich für Infomaterial und die On-Demand-Webinare.

Die wichtigsten Fragen & Antworten rund um Planspiele

Im Help Center haben wir die meistgestellten Fragen zu unseren Planspielen, den technischen Aspekten, den Einsatzmöglichkeiten und den Seminarleitertrainings beantwortet.

Planspiele

Was sind Planspiele bzw. Business-Simulationen?

Business-Simulationen, auch Unternehmensplanspiele genannt, sind gamifizierte Lernmethoden. Wie der Name bereits sagt, geht es bei dieser Art des Lernens darum, spielerisch und risikofrei das bestehende Wissen anzuwenden und auszubauen.

Spielerinnen und Spieler unserer Simulationen schlüpfen in die Rolle der Geschäftsführung eines virtuellen Unternehmens. Über verschiedene Geschäftsjahre hinweg müssen sie dabei strategische und operative Entscheidungen treffen, Teams der verschiedenen Bereiche leiten und dabei stets die Konkurrenz auf dem Markt im Auge behalten. In den Auswertungsberichten einer jeden Spielrunde können die Teilnehmenden die Auswirkungen ihrer Entscheidungen auf den Erfolg ihres Unternehmens einsehen. Sie entwickeln ein Gespür für die internen und externen Faktoren, welche Einfluss auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg eines Unternehmens haben.

Durch wechselnde Szenarien und eine Vielzahl an Entscheidungssituationen werden Teilnehmende immer wieder vor neue Herausforderungen gestellt. Vernetztes Denken und Handeln wird gefördert, Hard und Soft Skills werden trainiert. Auf diese Weise fordern unsere Planspiele ein hohes Maß an Lerntransfer und machen vor allem Spaß!

Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Video “Was sind Unternehmensplanspiele”

Wie finde ich das richtige Planspiel für meine Bedürfnisse?

Um das richtige Planspiel für Ihren individuellen Einsatz zu finden, sollten Sie sich über einige Faktoren klar werden:

  1. Wie viele Personen sollen an der Simulation teilnehmen?
  2. Welche Vorkenntnisse haben die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer? Möchten Sie Kenntnisse grundlegend vermitteln, vertiefen oder auffrischen?
  3. Welche Lernziele sollen erreicht, welche Soft und Hard Skills erlernt werden?
  4. In welchem Rahmen soll das Planspiel eingesetzt werden? Im Classroom-, Online- oder Blended-Learning?

Unser Team berät Sie in diesen Fragen gerne. Auf unserem Blog und in unserem Leitfaden für die Planspielauswahl finden Sie weitere Tipps.

Wie lange dauert ein Planspielseminar?

Das Planspielseminar kann individuell an Ihre Rahmenbedingungen angepasst werden. In den Kurzbeschreibungen unserer Simulationen können Sie nachlesen, wie viele Perioden (entspricht einem Geschäftsjahr in der Simulation) das jeweilige Planspiel abdeckt. Abhängig von der Komplexitätsstufe kann gesagt werden, dass Spielerinnen und Spieler bis zu 90 Minuten benötigen, um die Entscheidungen für die jeweiligen Perioden zu treffen. Wie lange das Seminar dann schlussendlich dauert, kommt auf die Art und Weise des Einsatzes (siehe Einsatzmöglichkeiten) und das Vorwissen der Teilnehmenden, den Umfang der Zusatzaufgaben und des theoretischen Inputs an.

Unser Team entwickelt gerne gemeinsam mit Ihnen die Konzeption Ihres Seminars.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Single- und Multiplayer?

Im gängigen Multiplayer-Modus spielen die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer in Teams gegen andere Teams ihres Seminars. Der zeitliche Rahmen wird hierbei von der Seminarleitung festgelegt. Der Multiplayer-Modus bietet sich für Classroom-, Online- und Blended-Learning Konzepte an. Vorteile sind unter anderem eine spannende Gruppendynamik, eine hohe Motivation durch den Wettbewerb und eine gezielte Auswertung der Ergebnisse durch die Seminarleitung.

Im Singleplayer-Modus spielen die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer gegen einen Computergegner. Das geht sowohl im Team als auch individuell allein. So haben die Spielerinnen und Spieler die Möglichkeit, unabhängig von der Seminarleitung ihre Lerngeschwindigkeit zu bestimmen und das Spiel gegebenenfalls zu wiederholen. Im Singleplayer-Modus gibt es einen relativ geringen Betreuungsaufwand, er eignet sich daher auch vor allem für Online- und Blended-Learning-Formate.

Mehr Informationen zum Thema Single- und Multiplayer finden sie auch in unseren Blogartikeln.

Unterschiedlicher Einsatz an Schulen, Hochschulen oder im Corporate-Bereich

An Schulen sowie an Hochschulen und Universitäten werden unsere Planspiele zur praxisnahen Lehre eingesetzt. Je nach Komplexitätsstufe können die Simulationen zum Einstieg in das Studium, als Capstone-Kurs gegen Ende des Studiums oder als Wahlmodule jederzeit eingesetzt werden. An Schulen eignen sich die Planspiele für Abschlussklassen oder den Einsatz an Berufsschulen. Die meisten Planspiele beziehen sich auf betriebs- und wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Themen, können jedoch auch bei Nicht-BWLern zum Einsatz kommen. Das Seminar kann dank unserer Online-Plattform individuell an Ihre Lehrveranstaltung angepasst werden. Sie können das Seminar mit weiteren Zusatzaufgaben ausstatten und das Planspiel auch gegebenenfalls benoten.

Im Corporate-Bereich dienen Unternehmensplanspiele häufig dem Onboarding und dem Training bestehender Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Außerdem können Sie Planspiele nutzen, um Auszubildenden für Ihre Firma zu gewinnen oder Führungskräfte weiterzubilden. Unsere Planspiele fördern Hard und Soft Skills, die Teamdynamik und das interdisziplinäre Verständnis für die verschiedenen Bereiche eines Unternehmens.

Technik

Was sind die Systemvoraussetzungen?

Der Großteil unserer Planspiele befindet sich in der TOPSIM – Cloud. Das bedeutet, Sie benötigen keine spezielle Software oder technisches Know-How, um diese Simulationen zu spielen. Um die Cloud optimal nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir die Nutzung der Browser Mozilla Firefox oder Google Chrome. Ansonsten ist die TOPSIM – Cloud unabhängig von Gerät oder Betriebssystem. Wir empfehlen, das Planspiel auf einem Tablet, Laptop oder Desktop-PC zu spielen, eine mobile Darstellung wird nicht unterstützt.

Um Updates kümmern wir uns! Sollte mal etwas nicht funktionieren, kontaktieren Sie bitte unseren Support (siehe unten).

Braucht jede*r Teilnehmer*in einen eigenen PC?

Spielen Sie beispielsweise im Singleplayer-Modus und jede*r Teilnehmer*in spielt für sich allein, dann wird auch ein eigener PC benötigt. Spielen Sie jedoch im Multiplayer-Modus, reicht es aus, wenn jedes Team ein Gerät gemeinsam nutzen kann.

Da jedoch jede*r Teilnehmende ohnehin einen Zugang zum Gruppenaccount erhält, kann auch jede*r das eigene Endgerät (Laptop, PC oder Tablet) nutzen. Die Entscheidungsfindung ist also nicht ortsgebunden, sondern auch mit Hilfe der TOPSIM – Cloud von unterschiedlichen Standorten aus möglich.

Wie viele Teilnehmer*innen spielen in einem Team?

Eine Teamgröße von drei bis fünf Mitgliedern hat sich, basierend auf Erfahrungen unserer Anwenderinnen und Anwender, bewährt. Je nach Vorwissen der Teilnehmenden und dem Lernziel der Veranstaltung kann diese Anzahl jedoch variieren.

Eine große Anzahl an Spielerinnen und Spielern können Sie auf bis zu 10 Unternehmen aufteilen. Sollten es mehr als 10 Teams sein, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, mehrere Märkte zu eröffnen. Die jeweilig empfohlene Zahl an Teilnehmenden entnehmen Sie den Kurzbeschreibungen unserer Planspiele.

In welchen Sprachen sind die Planspiele verfügbar?

Unsere Planspiele sind alle auf Deutsch und Englisch verfügbar. (Ausnahme: TOPSIM – Hospital Management ist ausschließlich auf Deutsch verfügbar)

Wie kann ich mich als Spielleitung in das Planspiel einarbeiten?

Wenn Sie noch nie eines unserer Planspiele gespielt oder ein Planspielseminar geleitet haben, empfehlen wir Ihnen die Teilnahme an einem Seminarleitertraining. Diese Trainings werden von erfahrenen Seminarleiterinnen und -leitern betreut, welche die Planspiele sowie typische Fragestellungen detailliert erläutern. Mehr dazu unter „Train-the-Trainer“.

Eine Übersicht über die aktuellen Trainingstermine finden Sie hier. Die Teilnahme an einem Seminarleitertraining ist für die Nutzung unseres Supports obligatorisch.

Gibt es Demo-Zugänge? Was sind die Lizenzmodelle?

Ja, gerne erstellen wir Ihnen einen Demo-Zugang zu unserer TOPSIM – Cloud und den Planspielen. Eine Übersicht über die verschiedenen Lizenzmodelle für Hochschulen finden Sie hier. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, um genauere Informationen für Ihren Einsatz im Corporate Bereich zu erhalten.

Einsatzmöglichkeiten

Classroom

Classroom-Konzepte finden als klassische Präsenzveranstaltung statt. Teams und Seminarleitung sind vor Ort und spielen alle synchron zur selben Zeit. Theorieeinheiten, begleitende Gruppenaufgaben, Entscheidungen der einzelnen Perioden sowie Auswertungen durch die Seminarleitung wechseln sich im Seminar ab.  Die Veranstaltung wird meist als mehrtägiges Blockseminar durchgeführt und eignet sich besonders gut, um theoretisches Wissen einzusetzen und erlernte Methoden anzuwenden.

Blended

Bei Blended-Learning-Konzepten übernimmt das Planspiel typischerweise die Funktion einer dynamischen Fallstudie und bildet den roten Faden durch eine semesterbegleitende Lehrveranstaltung. Durch Blended-Learning-Seminare können Fachinhalte optimal vermittelt und Methoden angewendet werden.

Distance/Online

Bei Online-Konzepten findet die gesamte Lehrveranstaltung im Distance-Learning statt, ohne einen Präsenzanteil. Remote Veranstaltungen und das Planspiel werden hier miteinander verzahnt. Das Planspiel soll durch Interaktivität und spielerisches Lernen motivieren. Die Stärke des Konzepts besteht in der hohen Flexibilität der Anwendung und der guten Skalierbarkeit der Teilnehmerzahl, die standortunabhängig gemeinsam ein Planspiel absolvieren können.

Weitere Informationen zu diesen Konzepten finden Sie in unserer Broschüre und auf dem TOPSIM – Blog.

Train-the-Trainer

Was ist ein Seminarleitertraining?

Diese Trainings bieten wir allen Planspielneulingen an, die ein Seminar mit unseren Simulationen gestalten möchten. Sie lernen Anwendungsfelder und Einsatzmöglichkeiten unserer Planspiele kennen und erfahren mehr über die Seminargestaltung und deren Konzeption. Außerdem gehen wir näher auf die Methodik unserer Simulationen und didaktische Aspekte ein. Spezifische Simulationsinhalte (betriebswirtschaftlich und branchenbezogen) sowie die Simulationsnutzung und deren Funktionen werden ebenfalls besprochen. Des Weiteren geben wir einen detaillierten Überblick über die Oberfläche der TOPSIM – Cloud.

Die Seminarleitertrainings werden aufgrund der aktuellen Situation nur online veranstaltet und sind auf 8 Teilnehmende begrenzt. Wir hoffen, unsere Trainings in Zukunft wieder interaktiv mit 10 Teilnehmenden vor Ort in Tübingen veranstalten zu können.

Wie kann ich mich anmelden?

Alle aktuellen Termine unserer Seminarleitertrainings finden Sie auf der Website unter dem Reiter Veranstaltungen. Dort können Sie das Training mit dem für Sie interessanten Planspiel auswählen und sich anmelden.

Mein gewünschtes Seminarleitertraining ist ausgebucht, was kann ich tun?

Sollte das Seminarleitertraining ausgebucht sein, schreiben Sie uns eine Mail an [email protected] und wir setzen Sie auf die Warteliste. So können wir Sie gegebenenfalls bei einer Absage doch noch zum gewünschten Termin einladen.

Unsere Seminarleitertrainings finden regelmäßig statt. Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an, um keine zukünftigen Termine mehr zu verpassen!

Was sind die Kosten?

Der Kostenbeitrag für ein Seminarleitertraining beträgt 300,00 € zzgl. MwSt. pro Teilnehmer*in. Hochschulangehörige und Lehrer*innen zahlen einen rabattierten Preis von 150,00 € zzgl. MwSt.

Support

An wen wende ich mich bei Fragen zum Planspiel?

Bei Fragen können Sie uns per Mail ([email protected]) oder Telefon (+49 7071 7942 13) erreichen. Voraussetzung für die Nutzung des Supports ist die Teilnahme an einem Seminarleitertraining.

Wann erreiche ich die Support-Hotline von TOPSIM?

Wir bieten unseren Support innerhalb der Öffnungszeiten 8:30-17:00 Uhr.

Sollten Sie ein Seminar am Samstag oder außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten planen, melden Sie den Support bitte zwei Wochen im Voraus an (per E-Mail an [email protected]), um sicherzustellen, dass einer unserer TOPSIM – Experten für Sie erreichbar ist.

Bieten Sie auch Support für Seminarteilnehmer*innen?

Wir bieten keinen Support für Teilnehmer*innen in einem TOPSIM – Seminar an. Bitte wenden Sie sich in dem Fall immer an Ihre Seminarleitung.

Was muss ich für den Support bereithalten?

Für einen schnellen Support ist es hilfreich, wenn Sie die SeminarID (Nummer wird oben in der Seminarleiteroberfläche angezeigt), Ihre E-Mail-Adresse oder den Namen des Lizenznehmers/Administrators bereithalten. Mit diesen Informationen können wir uns direkt auf die entsprechende Oberfläche schalten und Ihre Fragen schnellstmöglich beantworten.

Download-Bereich

Hier stellen wir Ihnen eine Reihe von Infomaterial zur Verfügung. Sie finden allgemeine Informationen zu unseren Planspielen und Whitepaper zu Methodik und Didaktik.

Lernen Sie unsere Planspiele kennen!

Melden Sie sich hier zu unseren On-Demand-Webinaren an. Sie erhalten kostenlos Erklärvideos zur Einführung in die jeweiligen Unternehmensplanspiele sowie die Funktionsweise der TOPSIM – Cloud.

Wie wir Sie unterstützen können

Sie möchten mehr über TOPSIM erfahren?

Gerne erarbeiten wir gemeinsam, wie Sie von unseren Planspiellösungen profitieren können.